Ian Vaughan Memorial Trophy

The Ian Vaughan memorial trophy is awarded to the fastest junior in the Mountain Time Trial.

Ian Vaughan

Ian Vaughan was a young local rider, a member of Barnesbury C.C, aged just 25.  In a tragic accident during the Mountain Time Trial in 1991, Ian was hit head-on by one of two cars supposedly racing each other.  This happened on the long straight just outside the Waggon Inn between Ponteland and Belsay, the event starting and finishing in Ponteland that year.

Ian Vaughan Article

Previous Recipients

Year Rider Club Time
2016 Mark Donovan Beacon Wheelers C.C. 2:04:38
2015 Adam Wild Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:11:42
2014 Adam Wild Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:12:02
2013 Tim Wilcock Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:15:45
2012 Kyle Watts Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:41:49
2011 Adam Hogarth Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:16:14
2010 Adam Hogarth Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:24:41
2009 Sam Hall Border City Wheelers 2:30:06
2008 Adam Hogarth Newcastle Phoenix C.C. 2:46:40
2007 James Alder Bishop Auckland C.C. 2:20:16
2006 Luke Willis Bishop Auckland C.C. 2:27:35
2005 Luke Willis Bishop Auckland C.C. 2:45:52
2004 Not awarded
2003 Not awarded
2002 Not awarded
2001 Not awarded
2000 Not awarded
1999 Not awarded
1998 Richard Guy G.S. Metro 2:18:16
1997 Not awarded
1996 Not awarded
1995 Steve Kenny Cramlington C.C. 1:50:33
1994 Not awarded
1993 John Caisley Ashington C.C. 2:14:54
1992 Colin Ash Cestria C.C. 1:33:49
1991 Glenn Turnbull G.S. Metro 2:41:27