Russell Thompson Trophy

The Russell Thompson memorial trophy is awarded to the rider with the fastest ascent of Bilsmoor.

Russell Thompson

Russell Thompson (G.S. Metro) dominated the Mountain Time Trial during the 1990s, winning the event a record seven times.  He passed away in his sleep at a relatively young age in 2005.  The trophy was donated by friends of Russell and was presented for the first time in 2006 by his family.

Previous Recipients

Year Rider Club Time
2016 Matt Moorhouse Preston C.C.
2015 Ian Taylor  6:33
2014 Carl Donaldson G.S. Metro 6:11
2013 Jon Sturman Activ Cycles 5:03
2012 Richard Handley Rapha Condor Sharp 6:29
2011 Richard Handley
Alistair Robinson
Team Raleigh
Team Leslie Bike Shop
2010 Chris Newton Rapha Condor Sharp 5:11
2009 Ian Taylor NFM R.T. 5:27
2008 Wayne Randle Planet X 5:20
2007 Ian Taylor Sunderland Clarion 5:27
2006 Keith Murray 5:47