Dorothy Dent Memorial Trophy

The Dorothy Dent memorial trophy is awarded to the fastest lady in the Mountain Time Trial.

Prior to 2006 the trophy was awarded to the rider with the fastest ascent of Bilsmoor, for which the Russell Thompson Trophy is now awarded.

Dorothy Dent

Dorothy DentDorothy Dent and her mother ran a very popular tearoom at Elsdon, just a few hundred yards up the hill from the present tearoom.  In 1934 they converted their living room into a tearoom and welcomed cyclists and hikers for more than 40 years.

She died in 1978 and in recognition of her kindness over many years the club erected a memorial seat outside her house.

Dorothy Dent Article

Dorothy Dent Bench

Previous Recipients

Year Rider Club Time
2016 Fiona Blackett Bishop Auckland C.C. 2:24:15
2015 Ingrid Shepherd Sunderland Clarion 2:27:48
2014 Angela Hibbs Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:20:44
2013 Jill Wilkinson Port Sunlight Wheelers 2:15:21
2012 Dawn Sherrin G.S. Metro 2:31:01
2011 Dawn Sherrin G.S. Metro 2:26:03
2010 Deborah Hales Cestria C.C. 2:28:12
2009 Julie Cook Altura R.T. 2:16:05
2008 Julie Mann Altura R.T. 2:22:09
2007 Phoebe Potts Border City Wheelers 2:31:28
2006 Phoebe Potts Border City Wheelers 2:32:27
Year Rider Club Time
2005 Ian Taylor Sunderland Clarion 5:53
2004 Martin Gibson Houghton C.C. 6:37
2003 Paul Dotchin Science in 6:41
2002 David Cook Middridge C.R.T. 5:42
2001 David Cook Middridge C.R.T. 5:23
2000 David Cook Middridge C.R.T. 5:52
1999 Graeme Stirzaker Angliasport 5:21
1998 William Mitchinson V.C. Azzurri 6:03
1997 Jon Kelly V.C. Azzurri 5:39