The 57th Tyneside Vagabonds Mountain Time Trial saw a rematch between last year's top two, with Richard Handley (Rapha Condor Sharp) this turning around last year's result to push Andrew Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers) into second place by 1:38 to win the £250 first prize courtesy of Wellstream International and George Scougall.

With roadworks continuing on the bridge in Rothbury, the start and finish were again moved from Belsay to Rothbury to allow the classic course to be used. A southwesterly wind gusting to 40mph, made for one of the toughest days in recent years, with most riders 5-10 minutes (and more) slower than last year.

By the timed climb at Bilsmoor after just 8 miles, Richard Handley was leading by 30 seconds from Andrew Wilkinson as he took a clear win in the hill climb prize, though only John Tuckett and Giles Harrison (both were only a few seconds further back. A super-fast wind-assisted descent of the Gibbett gave all the riders much needed relief from the headwind, and Richard Handley took full advantage to stretch his lead by more than a minute by the finish.

Fastest lady was once again Dawn Sherrin of G.S Metro who finished just over a minute ahead of Jill Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers), whilst Andrew Wilkinson also took the Veterans prize.  Kyle Watts (Tyneside Vagabonds) was fastest junior, whilst won the team prize.

The event was rounded off with Val Scougall presenting the trophies.  The event was held in memory of George Scougall, and he would have appreciated the efforts of all the riders in the windy conditions.

MTT Prize Winners

MTT 2012 Results

MTT Veterans Results

MTT Team Results