mountain time trial logo

race team shortcut1

club rides shortcut

goride shortcut

wags shortcut

  • Welcome to Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club
    Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club is based in the Newcastle upon Tyne / Ponteland area.
    We have over 300 members of all ages from the Newcastle and Northumberland area
    who enjoy the various club activities and social events organised by the club.

    For more information about joining Tyneside Vagabonds click here

  • race team shortcut

    Vags Race Team
    All members who race for the club in any event are part of the race team.
    The Race Team competes at all levels from novice to international level,
    on-road, off-road, on the track, and in triathlons.
    For more information about the Vags Race Team click here     

  • goride logo

    Go-Ride Coaching Sessions
    Go-Ride provides a fun and safe way to introduce young riders to cycling.
    Tyneside Vagabonds run coaching sessions at Thorneyford Farm, Kirkley
    on Saturday mornings, which are ideal for children aged 6 and upwards.

    For more information about our Go-Ride coaching click here

  • mountain time trial logo

    Mountain Time Trial
    The Vagabonds' Mountain Time Trial was first run in 1947 and is the North East's premier time trial.
    It takes place on a challenging 47 mile course taking in Belsay, Rothbury, and Elsdon.
    The 61st edition of the MTT is to be held on Sunday 15th May 2016.

    For more information about the Mountain Time Trial click here

  •  wags

    Women and Girls (WAGs)
    Women only Sunday social rides of 30-35 miles at an average 12-13mph.
    Join us for a fun way to explore Northumberland's quiet roads (and excellent caf├ęs!).
    Whatever your age and whether you're new to road cycling or an 'old hand' - you'll be warmly welcomed.
    For more information about the Vags WAGs click here     

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Latest Forum Posts

Some Good News!
16/05/2021 19:34 by Adrian Snell (no replies)

Saturday Ride 24 April 2021
03/05/2021 17:01 by Keith Aungiers (7 replies)

Saturday Club Rides
27/04/2021 23:23 by Adrian Snell (no replies)

TOGS 29 April
27/04/2021 16:43 by Gordon Atkinson (no replies)

Dorothy Dent Memorial Trophy

The Dorothy Dent memorial trophy is awarded to the fastest lady in the Mountain Time Trial.

Prior to 2006 the trophy was awarded to the rider with the fastest ascent of Bilsmoor, for which the Russell Thompson Trophy is now awarded.

Dorothy Dent

Dorothy DentDorothy Dent and her mother ran a very popular tearoom at Elsdon, just a few hundred yards up the hill from the present tearoom.  In 1934 they converted their living room into a tearoom and welcomed cyclists and hikers for more than 40 years.

She died in 1978 and in recognition of her kindness over many years the club erected a memorial seat outside her house.

Dorothy Dent Article

Dorothy Dent Bench

Previous Recipients

Year Rider Club Time
2016 Fiona Blackett Bishop Auckland C.C. 2:24:15
2015 Ingrid Shepherd Sunderland Clarion 2:27:48
2014 Angela Hibbs Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 2:20:44
2013 Jill Wilkinson Port Sunlight Wheelers 2:15:21
2012 Dawn Sherrin G.S. Metro 2:31:01
2011 Dawn Sherrin G.S. Metro 2:26:03
2010 Deborah Hales Cestria C.C. 2:28:12
2009 Julie Cook Altura R.T. 2:16:05
2008 Julie Mann Altura R.T. 2:22:09
2007 Phoebe Potts Border City Wheelers 2:31:28
2006 Phoebe Potts Border City Wheelers 2:32:27
Year Rider Club Time
2005 Ian Taylor Sunderland Clarion 5:53
2004 Martin Gibson Houghton C.C. 6:37
2003 Paul Dotchin Science in 6:41
2002 David Cook Middridge C.R.T. 5:42
2001 David Cook Middridge C.R.T. 5:23
2000 David Cook Middridge C.R.T. 5:52
1999 Graeme Stirzaker Angliasport 5:21
1998 William Mitchinson V.C. Azzurri 6:03
1997 Jon Kelly V.C. Azzurri 5:39

Member Login

Not a member? Join