mountain time trial logo

race team shortcut1

club rides shortcut

goride shortcut

wags shortcut

  • Welcome to Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club
    Tyneside Vagabonds Cycling Club is based in the Newcastle upon Tyne / Ponteland area.
    We have over 300 members of all ages from the Newcastle and Northumberland area
    who enjoy the various club activities and social events organised by the club.

    For more information about joining Tyneside Vagabonds click here

  • race team shortcut

    Vags Race Team
    All members who race for the club in any event are part of the race team.
    The Race Team competes at all levels from novice to international level,
    on-road, off-road, on the track, and in triathlons.
    For more information about the Vags Race Team click here     

  • goride logo

    Go-Ride Coaching Sessions
    Go-Ride provides a fun and safe way to introduce young riders to cycling.
    Tyneside Vagabonds run coaching sessions at Thorneyford Farm, Kirkley
    on Saturday mornings, which are ideal for children aged 6 and upwards.

    For more information about our Go-Ride coaching click here

  • mountain time trial logo

    Mountain Time Trial
    The Vagabonds' Mountain Time Trial was first run in 1947 and is the North East's premier time trial.
    It takes place on a challenging 47 mile course taking in Belsay, Rothbury, and Elsdon.
    The 61st edition of the MTT is to be held on Sunday 15th May 2016.

    For more information about the Mountain Time Trial click here

  •  wags

    Women and Girls (WAGs)
    Women only Sunday social rides of 30-35 miles at an average 12-13mph.
    Join us for a fun way to explore Northumberland's quiet roads (and excellent caf├ęs!).
    Whatever your age and whether you're new to road cycling or an 'old hand' - you'll be warmly welcomed.
    For more information about the Vags WAGs click here     

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Marion Bunton Trophy

The Marion Bunton trophy is awarded to the fastest rider in the Mountain Time Trial.

Marion Bunton

Marion Bunton ArticleMarion Bunton was an 18 year old member of Tyneside Vagabonds in 1948, when she suffered an accident whilst cycling with a friend near Bellingham. 

Marion had joined the Vagabonds two years earlier, and had gone on to win prizes in open competitions the following year.  Marion had become a keen Youth Hostel enthusiast and for a few weekends before the accident had been visiting local hostels with her companion Mary Wright.  After spending an evening at Bellingham Hostel on Sunday 21st March 1948, they set off in the direction of Otterburn and the tragic accident happened near West Woodburn when the back wheel of her machine reportedly became loose as she was cycling down a steep hill.  She was rushed to the Royal Victoria Infirmary in Newcastle, but passed away shortly after.

Previous Recipients

Year Rider Club Time
2016 Richard Handley One Pro Cycling Ltd 1:51:50
2015 Danny Grieves G.S. Metro 2:03:28
2014 Rob Carter TS Racing - Vankru 1:56:57
2013 Jon Sturman Activ Cycles 1:56:01
2012 Richard Handley Rapha Condor Sharp 1:55:02
2011 Andrew Wilkinson Port Sunlight Wheelers 1:50:47
2010 Chris Newton Rapha Condor Sharp 1:50:16
2009 John Tuckett A W Cycles 2:00:14
2008 Dominic Munnelly KB Cycles 1:56:23
2007 Julian Ramsbottom Scunthorpe Poly C.C. 1:58:23
2006 Wayne Randle Planet X 2:01:22
2005 Keith Murray Scott UK 2:00:50
2004 Martin Gibson Houghton C.C. 2:05:33
2003 Paul Dotchin Science in 2:00:29
2002 Dave Cook Middridge C.R.T. 1:59:18
2001 Dave Cook Middridge C.R.T. 1:59:05
2000 Dave Cook Middridge C.R.T. 1:59:59
1999 Graeme Stirzaker Angliasport 2:01:23
1998 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 2:02:12
1997 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 1:59:12
1996 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 2:01:54
1995 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 1:31:09
1994 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 1:55:45
1993 Jeff Wright North East R.T. 2:01:33
1992 Ian Norris Ridley C.C. 1:28:23
1991 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 2:33:42
1990 Russell Thompson G.S. Metro 2:32:45
1989 Ian Norris Barnesbury C.C. 2:34:01
1988 J Sinclair Tyne Electric 2:38:25
1987 Not awarded
1986 Ian Norris Barnesbury C.C. 2:34:36
1985 D Pike Middridge C.R.T. 2:36:05
1984 Billy Mitchinson Ashington R.C. 2:31:41
1983 Arthur Caygill Richmond and Darlington C.C. 2:30:44
1982 D Horton Halifax R.C. 2:27:52
1981 Arthur Caygill Richmond and Darlington C.C. 2:38:41
1980 Arthur Caygill Richmond and Darlington C.C. 2:33:46
1979 Joe Waugh G.S. Strada 2:59:31
1978 Mick Bradshaw Thornaby C.R.T. 2:57:49
1977 Mick Bradshaw Whitley Bay 3:01:29
1976 Arthur Caygill Richmond and Darlington C.C. 2:53:59
1975 Arthur Caygill Richmond and Darlington C.C. 2:58:47
1974 R Taylor Cleveland Coureurs 3:04:03
1973 K Sinclair V.C. Electric 3:04:51
1972 D Reay Houghton C.C. 3:06:00
1971 D Reay Houghton C.C. 2:58:23
1970 Not awarded
1969 Not awarded
1968 Not awarded
1967 Not awarded
1966 Not awarded
1965 Not awarded
1964 Not awarded
1963 Wes Clayton Tyne R.C. 2:58:34
1962 N Taylor Cheviot R.C. 3:00:04
1961 N Taylor Cheviot R.C. 3:03:54
1960 N Taylor Cheviot R.C. 3:01:12
1959 N Taylor Cheviot R.C. 3:01:33
1958 Joe Lee Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 3:04:40
1957 Hugh Harrison Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 3:10:54
1956 J Nicholson Durham City Rovers 3:21:52
1955 L Shields Barnesbury C.C. 3:09:49
1954 Ron Longstaff Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 3:10:16
1953 Not awarded
1952 N Moore Weardale R.C. 3:04:17
1951 N Moore Weardale R.C. 3:06:58
1950 N Moore Weardale R.C. 3:12:56
1949 J Connoly Dunston Coureurs 3:20:11
1948 Ron Longstaff Tyneside Vagabonds C.C. 3:14:26
1947 Stan Bain Barnesbury C.C. 3:20:33



British Cycling North East

Cycling Headlines